Romanticized and Overeager

I’m back in Utah. I have been for a while now.

Have you noticed that I tend to romanticize everything? Even a regular cup of joe.

I think I may have romanticized this place into some mystical, magical life. If that were true, wouldn’t I feel happier living here? But I’ve been here for 4 months and I am unimpressed.

In retrospect, I guess I wasn’t unhappy in Texas with my family… I was eager. Eager to see what more life had to offer. Eager to fall in love with someone new. Eager to see more of who I really am. Eager. Eager. Eager.

I’ve been going going going for the last 10 months. Maybe it’s time I stop romanticizing and start looking, seeing, tasting.

I read a quote yesterday that struck me.

YOU ARE A PERISHABLE ITEM. Live accordingly.

How often we live in a daydream state waiting for the next big thing to happen. Waiting for the guy to show up. Waiting for our next paycheck. Waiting for that promotion. Waiting for that exotic vacation. Waiting. Waiting. Waiting.

 

I am perishable. I am not made to wait. I am made to live. To run. To see. To taste. To climb. To grow. To play. To be. 

Let us not go to waste waiting on romantic notions of an unrealistic life to take place. Utah might not be some mystical, magical place, but it is where I am. And this is where I want to be. So, here’s to making the best of it.

 

 

About Kelly R. Storts

A name is so specific, and yet so general. I am a Kelly. There are many Kelly’s in this overwhelming world. I am Kelly, and I am from Dallas. I am sure that there are thousands of Kelly’s from Dallas. Names mean so much to people. Names tend to define people through the origin, spelling, the handwriting. I am Kelly Brianne, but it’s not my name that sets me apart. I am a swirl, a twist of emotions. I enjoy classical music and a pounding of rock. When I feel love my entire being starts to shake, and like Peter Pan, I feel my skin glow. I revolve around helping people. My strengths are my greatest weaknesses. I love love, and I love others in love. I love to write, read and share my writing with all the interesting people I meet. I may be a Kelly from Dallas, but I am my own Kelly.
This entry was posted in Life Inside a Coffee Shop, Life Outside a Coffee Shop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

